Big Sky Mind


Summer Of Socks
June 11, 2008, 8:47 am
Filed under: Knitting

Starting on June 21st is the Summer of Socks 2008. I pretty much live the Summer of Socks all year round. I currently have 3 pair on the needles. The first priority is my Regia Father’s Day Socks. Here is the first one completed.
<a href=”http://Father's Day Sock“>
I’ve started the second one, but it is not big enough yet to show you any progress. I’m not actually going to get to celebrate Father’s Day with my Dad for a couple of weekends, so I have time.

I also wanted to show you my Tempted Yarns Paris Socks. One is done and the other one is midway through the foot.
<a href=”http://Tempted Yarns Paris Socks“>
You can really see the color pooling in that photo. Again, I like it, but I know a lot of people don’t dig it.

So for the Summer of Socks I’ve been trying to decide what to do. Last Summer I concentrated on learning new sock techniques. I did color work, learned about two circulars, lots of pattern work. I’m thinking this year I may do some karma knitting and work on socks to give away to charity. Are you participating in the Summer of Socks? What are you going to work on if you are? I’d love to hear your ideas.


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I like the Tempted socks – I’ve got the same colorway, but haven’t used it yet.

I’m not doing the summer of socks, but definitely plan on knitting quite a few. I’m testing a pattern for someone that I met when we saw the Yarn Harlot, and I’ve got a few sock club shipments to work on too.

I think your Karma Knitting idea is a good one. I need to not be such a selfish knitter…I’m not very good about sharing the yarny love.

Comment by Melissa




Leave a comment