Big Sky Mind


Knit Picks Rules!!!
April 23, 2008, 7:40 am
Filed under: American Idol, Knitting, Weather

I can’t tell you how pleased I am with the service I got from Knit Picks regarding my broken Harmony needles! I initially emailed them to see if anything could be done when the first one broke. Then after the second one broke I decided just to send them back in to see if I could get replacements. I got my new needles on Monday one week after I sent them in. I received several emails following up. I am only going to use Knit Picks needles in the future. I will just have to plan ahead and work on being patient since I have to order them and can’t have them immediately when I want to start a new project. I am thinking about getting the Harmony interchangeable system. Does anyone have it? I’m curious to know if people like it.
I am not nearly as pleased with the lack of good customer service I received at Stitches and Scones. I went to return the needle I bought when the first Harmony snapped and was told that there are no returns or exchanges of any sort on needles. Now I kind of understand why they do this, so people won’t buy needles, run home knit like the wind, finish their project and bring them back, but seriously. There was nothing wrong with these needles, they were barely used, they could easily be resold. All I wanted was a store credit, which is all you can get their for anything. So now I am stuck with a set of Size 1 12″ Addi Turbo needle that I paid $14. for. Which is about what two of the Knit Picks needles cost by the way. There are lots of local yarn shops, I just will choose not to give Stitches and Scones my business in the future.
I have started some new socks since finishing the Easter Egg Socks. They are for my friend Mike B. He loves the flame socks I made him this winter, but wants something a little less warm for Spring and Summer. I am making him a pair of socks using Austermann Step, the yarn with Aloe and Jojoba mixed in with the fiber. It is lovely to knit with and I don’t notice the conditioners in the yarn, it just feels soft. I will post a photo when one is finished. They are in blue tones, so I’m thinking they will be called Earth Day Socks. Speaking of Earth Day, did you know that most commercial fabric softeners use beef fat to soften your clothes? Ewwww! Now I need to rethink my Downey habit.
I so enjoyed Earth Day, the weather was just incredible!! I feel like I griped so much when the weather was bad this winter, that I need to give Mother Nature some props. Love this weather we’ve been having! It is so gorgeous and fantastic!!!
I’m am getting so excited about the Yarn Harlot’s visit next Tuesday. I’m planning on going early, between 3-4 to get a place in line. I almost completely messed up tho. One of my fellow yoga teachers ask me to sub next Tuesday night for her. I initially said yes and then remembered when the date was. Turns out she wanted to go see the Harlot too! For all you non knitters that read the blog, it is going to be a big event. Barnes and Noble has no idea what is going to happen to them.
American Idol made a bad choice last night with the Andrew Lloyd Webber songs. I think that it’s between Jason and Brooke who is going home. Everyone enjoy the weather and have a great week!!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I have the Harmony Interchangeables and I love them! I prefer using wood needles, and this set was perfect for me. I did have one needle come out from the metal part – but Knit Picks quickly sent me another pair.

Can’t wait for the Harlot! I won’t be able to get there until right after work 5:00 😦 But at least I’ll get to hear/see her!!

Comment by Melissa

You have no idea how hard it is to run a yarn shop and try to be fair to everyone. If needles are returned, used needles will be sold without knowing it. LYSs run on a very tight budget, because of the payroll expense to have staff to help you. Your response seems a little extreme.

Comment by Anne

I am a frequent shopper at Stitches and Scones and have been very happy with their service. I personally would not like to purchase your barely used needles. I have returned needles to the store that broke and they were more than happy to replace them with new ones. Would you want to purchase my used needles?

Comment by Elizabeth

Well, now I feel like I need to respond to these comments. I may not know what it takes to run a yarn store, but I have spent my entire working life in the retail customer service industry, so I feel like I have a pretty good grasp of the difference between good customer service and what passes as customer service these days. This is just my personal opinion of my situation. If other people shop there and get good service, I think that is terrific. I have had several experiences there that have led me to make the decision that I personally am not going to shop there anymore. As far as buying someone’s “used” knitting needles, really, they are knitting needles, not underwear!!! I wouldn’t care in the least at as long as they weren’t broken or warped. My goodness! Finally, this is my personal blog, where I post my personal opinions. You don’t have to agree with what I write.

Comment by Sally

Totally agree with you Sals.

Comment by running peanut




Leave a Reply

