Big Sky Mind


Super Sunday
January 27, 2008, 4:50 pm
Filed under: Knitting

So this is the first day in over 3 weeks that I haven’t had either a yoga class to teach or had to work at the coffee shop. I have to admit, I’m a little bored. There aren’t any sports that interest me on tv, so I’ve had a nap and been knitting all day. I turned the heel on the second Rappongi Sock. Now I can take it with me wherever I go and I don’t have to worry about counting rows or increasing or decreasing. Here is what it looks like: <a href=”http://Rappongi #2 Heel“>I’m still trying to decide what sock to work on next. I have a couple of skeins of Yarn Pirate Booty Club sock yarn that I’m leaning toward. Icicle or Solstice. I think I have photos of them.<a href=”http://Yarn Pirate BFL Solstice“>That’s Solstice I guess I never took a photo of Icicle. I will get that for you.   Speaking of photos, I can hardly wait for the premiere of Mike B.’s new photography website. I’ll let you know when it goes live so you can be sure to check it out!!!! There will be all kinds of different photos. He is an amazing photographer and this is his newest venture.    My newest venture is a poncho for my pal Cara. I found a terrific pattern in the book Weekend Knits by Melanie Falick. It is called the Union Square Shawl/Poncho. Basically you just knit a giant rectangle and then fold it over and sew the ends together to make the poncho shape. It is going super quickly, I’m using an alpaca blend yarn on size 9 needles. Oscar was helping me by checking out my progress.<a href=”http://Oscar Checking Out the Poncho“> Yes, I knit the blanket underneath, in case you were wondering. It’s from the Four Seasons Throw booklet. Yes, I washed in and it felted and I was really super bummed out. Don’t wash Manos, it’s a lesson I learned the hard way. It is still warm and cozy and the boys love it, especially Oscar. I hope everyone has a great week. I am scheduled for less hours at the coffee shop this week and I have to admit, I’m kinda looking forward to having some extra time off.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oscar looks very sweet on top of the blanket. It still looks beautiful, even with the felting.

Enjoy your extra knitting time this week!

Comment by Melissa

I bet you “felt” bad about it. Henh.

Comment by running peanut




Leave a Reply

