Big Sky Mind


Happy 2008!
January 3, 2008, 5:27 pm
Filed under: Knitting, Spinning

Yeah, I know it’s the 3rd already, I’ve been busy working everyday. I opened on New Year’s Day. We didn’t have very many customers at 7 a.m., but the dude that came through the drive thru in him pjs just cracked me up. I’ve also been knitting. Wanna see? I’ve been working on Mike B’s flame socks. The pattern is from Pink Lemon Twist.  I think they are called Hot Rod or Olympic Flame Socks.  I am using a combo of Dale of Norway Baby Ull Yarn in Black, Orange and Yellow and then for the red I’m using Rowan Yarns Classic Yarns in the Cashsoft DK.  I’m a little worried about how that yarn will wear, but Mike assures me he will be gentle with them.  I’m making pretty major adjustments to the pattern since it is written for a size 8 ladies sock and Mike is a Men’s size 14.  I’ve done a LOT of measuring to make sure they are going to be big enough.  They are very cool looking so far. Simon was helping me out with my photo shoot this afternoon. <a href=”http://Flame Sock and Simon“>The picture that’s good of the sock isn’t good of the cat and this one is a bit dark.<a href=”http://Simon and The Sock“>Here is a bit of a close up of the flame pattern.<a href=”http://Flame Sock Close Up“>The orange isn’t as day glo as it appears in that picture. For these socks I’m using my new KnitPicks Harmony wooden double point needles size 0. I got several sock sizes for Christmas. I love them, they are a joy to knit with. I also got a couple of books for Christmas. Just what I need, a sock pattern book.<a href=”http://Knitting Vintage Socks“>I highly recommend this book though. It is enjoyable reading even if I never make any of the patterns. I also got a book on spinning yarn.<a href=”http://Teach Yourself Visually Handspinning“>Boy did I get a surprise when I was looking through this book Christmas day and noticed that the person in all the photos was my spinning teacher Kate! Wow! I’ve got to get back to spinning again, maybe with my new schedule I will find some time for it. I hope everyone had a safe and happy new year!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Happy New Year! Those socks are too fun – I love the flames.

Comment by Melissa

Wow. Those are like your best flames ever. Totally rad. Mike B is one lucky dude.

Comment by Running Peanut




Leave a Reply

