Big Sky Mind


Socktober
October 10, 2007, 12:20 pm
Filed under: Knitting, Television

Lots of people participate in Socktober, making socks this month.  The Yarn Pirate is making 31 baby booties for the month.  But honestly, I’m a little burned out on sock knitting.  I was doing a little work on Ravelry and realized that during the Summer of Socks, I worked on 9 pair of socks and completed 7.  That is a lot of socks!  I’d almost forgotten how many I had made.  I learned a lot during my summer of knitting nothing but socks.  I like knitting on two circular needles.  I learned all kinds of heel techniques when knitting from the toe up.  I feel about the same whether I start a sock at the cuff or the toe.  I like doing patterns, but I also just like doing plain socks where the colors of the yarns really shine.  So while my sock production may slow, it will never completely stop.  I can’t imagine a time when I wouldn’t have a sock on the needles.  Plus I have that HUGE sock yarn stash to work through.

Very glad that Wayne got voted off of Dancing with the Semi-Famous last night.  I’m a little sad that the “Next Great American Band” is going to be on Friday nights.  Boo.  I’m usually home on Friday nights, but I don’t think that is the best time slot for a show like that.  I think that the first episode is the 19th.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It was time for Wayne to go but I did like his closing comments.

Comment by running peanut

You made a lot of socks! I still haven’t been brave enough to try the two circular knitting thing.

Comment by Melissa

I think your nickname should be Sock Monkey.

Comment by Troy




Leave a Reply

