Big Sky Mind


Randomness
September 20, 2007, 10:28 am
Filed under: Random, Technology, Yoga

Today is another one of those days when I have a lot of super random things I want to talk about. 

First is a yarn diet.  My Yarn Pirate Booty Club Yarn came last night.  Darling Husband Carl was questioning me about it.  It is lovely by the way, as soon as I take photos, I’ll share.  But I was thinking that maybe he has a point.  Maybe it’s time for me to take a yarn buying sabbatical.  I know I have enough sock yarn that I could knit from now until spring (maybe longer) and not run out.  And with the holidays coming perhaps my money would be better spent elsewhere.  So I’m going to not buy any yarn except for my two sock yarn clubs I already belong to between now and the new year.  I’m going to try very hard to stick to this.  I’ll be honest and let you know if I slip between now and then, but I think if I get the urge to buy any new yarn one peek at my stash should take care of that.

Another thing is time.  I have my weird time obsession and lately it seems that I don’t have any time.  Tuesday night was a late night and last night was busy working on the new computer (more on that later) so the time slipped away.  Tonight is my spinning lesson and tomorrow night I have a work meeting from 6:30-9:00 (ADD moment, who has a work meeting till 9 p.m. on Friday night???).  So what is they say, “no rest for the wicked”?  Maybe the weekend will allow me a little time to gather myself.  I tend not to be 100% if I don’t feel rested and centered.  I am going to tell them that I have to leave the work meeting by 8 p.m.  I have to teach yoga at 8 a.m. the next morning, I’m sure they would want me to be at my best for my class.

Speaking of yoga, reading Shattering_Samskarashas made me realize that I very rarely blog about yoga or my teaching.  I don’t really know why that is.  I love doing yoga and I love teaching.  It is always teaching me life lessons.  I think that this past week’s class was a lesson in patience.  I had two new students both who arrived late for my class.  The first one was just a few minutes late.  She seemed to be having trouble doing even the warm up poses.  I try very hard to make my classes accessible to all of my students.  It would be a disservice to my other students to try to make my classes any more gentle than they already are.  The other new student arrived a full 25 minutes into the class.  She was banging on the door to get in (must not have seen the other door that was open).  I did tell her that we were quite aways into class, but that didn’t seem to phase her in the least.  She spent the entire relaxation period towards the end of class making loud disruptive noises.  Again, it wasn’t the most challenging part of the class, so I don’t know why she was having so much of an issue.  These students are my teachers, teaching me how to be patient, forgiving, to remember that the students that come to my class every week deserve my attention and my best teaching skills regardless of the distractions around us.  They may not ever be back to class, that is the nature of teaching yoga, students come and go.  So that is what has been going on in my yoga world.

My new MacBook is still a work in progress.  I got most of my iTunes to transfer in.  I am having to work some CD’s back in and recreate all of my playlists.  This is very time consuming.  That is what I spent all of last night doing.  And I have to recreate all of my address book and calendar.  So far my MacBook and my iPhone aren’t really friends yet. 

I’ve started the second Bamboo Banga sock, but I messed up already.  I forgot the toe needed to be 36 sts on each needle, I tried to start the pattern with 32.  Not surprisingly, it didn’t work.  So I need to rip out and finish the toe properly. 

So what randomness do you have going on in your lives?  Happy thought, it’s almost fall, even tho it’s supposed to be 90 degrees this weekend.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You know – I’m supposed to be on a yarn diet too – but you kindly reminded me about Yarn Pirate and I got in – so I’m in trouble. It’s hard to do. Good luck with yours.

I didn’t know that you taught Yoga. I really need to start doing it again – I had a pretty good routine going before I got pregnant (and a little while I was pregnant) but I’m so out of it now. I felt much more at peace when I was doing it. I would have been frustrated with the new students, but it sounds like you handled it very well. 🙂

Comment by Melissa

I kind of hate the idea of “diets.” They’re so negative. How about a yarn spending plan?

My life got suddenly more random this week because America’s Next Top Model started so now I’ll be at Dave’s once a week and bell choir started, so now I’ll be at church once a week. Funny, those two things each last an hour, but it completely throws my schedule into craziness.

Comment by Troy




Leave a Reply

