Big Sky Mind


What’s In A Name?
September 7, 2007, 12:18 pm
Filed under: Knitting, Technology

Today I have Darling Husband Carl’s new socks to show you. I don’t know what to name them, any suggestions? It is Panda Wool, so I could call them the Panda Socks. They are manly, man socks, so I could call them that. They have bamboo in them so maybe it should be something about that. The color on the ball band says jet black, but what they really are is navy and black mixed. They are really dark, it was hard to get a photo that showed the pattern, but I did the best I could.
Carl's Sock“>
The stitch pattern is from “Sensational Knitted Socks”. I am a big, giant, dork and can’t remember the name of the pattern. Maybe Twin Rib? It is a 6 stitch pattern and very easy. DHC didn’t want anything too busy, something simple.

So last night I was working on the Argosy Blanket during the Colts football game. It didn’t even start until 8:30. Do you know where we are headed here? Even tho this is a simple pattern, you need to be paying a little attention to it, not to Peyton Manning and Marvelous Marvin Harrison. I made a significant error which required me ripping out about 4-5 rows. I fixed the error and I think I am now back to where I was. One good thing is that I’m only at about 60 some stitches, it will grow to be 200+. Imagine if you messed up in those rows! I’m just never going to learn that after 9, it’s not really worth it for me to try to knit. I also bought new needles for Argosy. The ones I had were 24″ long and it was already starting to fill it up. So last night when I went for my spinning class, I bought the longest needles they had, 47″! I really didn’t know they made circular needles with cables that long, but with so many people making blankets these days, I guess it makes sense. So here is what Argosy looks like so far on it’s new super long needles.
Argosy9-7“>
I don’t have big plans for this weekend, just watching lots of racing and football on tv. That makes for the best knitting time, so hopefully I will have lots of progress for you next week. I’m not quite sure when I will be able to post again. My iBook is now squawking like a bird everytime I turn it on, so I fear it’s death is immenent. Monday is looking like it will be superbusy for me, so be patient. I’m not running away to join the Cirque de Soleil, I’ll be back as soon as I can be.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

