Big Sky Mind


I tried to be good
September 5, 2007, 11:37 am
Filed under: Yarn Pr0n

I may have a yarn buying problem. It is obvious to anyone who reads this blog that I do not need any more sock yarn. I have a very large quantity of it just waiting to be made into wonderful socks. Last Wednesday, I got my Loopy Groupie e-mail (and yes, the fact that I am a Loopie Groupie is an indicator that there may be a problem) that Sheri at the Loopy Ewe had just put up a large “sneak up” of yarn. I decided to just go upstairs and have a quick look. I had already found the Austermann Step and that is what I had really been waiting for. So I looked at the colors of Austermann Step, nothing really moved me. I looked at the new Trekking, also very popular sock yarn. Again, nothing stood out. Then I decided to click on the ShiBuiKnits. Oh my…. Look at all the beautiful colors. But I didn’t need any more sock yarn. Look at the Rappongi, it’s all my favorite colors, oranges, pinks and reds. Ooooh…. I’ll just go back downstairs and it will sell out and then I won’t have to worry about it. So I went back downstairs and Darling Husband Carl asks me what I was doing. “Just looking at new sock yarn” was my answer. “You’re addicted to buying yarn, you have a real problem” he says to me. “No I don’t, I didn’t even buy any”, I smugly answer back. But I could hear it calling me, luring me back up to the computer. I think to myself “Surely a color as beautiful as that will be sold out by now. Maybe I should just go up and check”. Well, you probably know what happened, the Rappongi wasn’t sold out yet, although a lot of the other colors were. I just couldn’t resist. So Darling Husband Carl may be right. I might have a little yarn buying addiction. I had some trouble getting good photos of the colors.
Shibuiknits bad lighting“>
Not the greatest.
Shibuiknits better lighting“>
A little better.
Shibuiknits Rappongi“>
Now we’re cooking. Anyone who knows me very well, would know there was no way I was going to be able to resist this particular colorway. And the yarn is lovely, very squishy. It reminds me of Claudia’s Handpainted, one of my absolute favorites.

I also wanted to show you the super cool thing I had done over Labor Day weekend. I had read somewhere that you could take books to Fed Ex/Kinkos and they would turn them into spiral bound books for you so you can lay them flat. This is a big advantage when you are trying to read something and knit it at the same time. I took “Sensational Knitted Socks” and ask the nice guy at the counter if they could in fact make it spiral bound for me. “Of course”, he says. 5 minutes later, voila. Here is Charlene Schurch’s new book in it’s orignal form and it’s spiral bound brother for comparison.
One Bound, One Not Yet“>
I will be taking the “More Sensational Knitted Socks” to Kinkos is the very near future.  You know I am going to need lots of sock patterns, if I’m going to knit up all this yarn I have.

P.S.  The name of the color for August Zen String Sock Club yarn is Evening Sky.  Love that name and that color!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

It’s really pretty yarn. I understand the addiction – I too have the same problem and I’m supposed to be on a yarn diet. I keep trying to find loop holes in this diet 🙂

Comment by Melissa




Leave a Reply

