Big Sky Mind


Ball Winding 101
August 28, 2007, 12:51 pm
Filed under: Knitting, Yarn Pr0n

Okay, so here is the little photo essay on why my umbrella (ella, ella, ella – that’s for you D) swift is the most awesome thing ever. First let me show you my ball winding center, aka my desk in my office.
Ball winding area“>
You’ll notice no iBook in the photo. Sigh. Anyways, the big wood thing is the swift, yarn still in skein form and the white plastic thing is the ball winder.
Umbrella Swift“>
Here is the yarn on my new swift. Next we attach it to the winder and begin winding.
Ball Winder and Swift“>
Winding In Progress“>
This is my Zen String Sock Club yarn from July called Dragonfly. And Voila, the finished product.
Finished Wound Ball“>
This is much easier than having Darling Husband Carl hold the skein while I try to wind it up. My balls are wound up much more even this way. It’s pretty much awesome. One reason I decided to use my Zen String Sock Club yarn for my demonstration was that my August selection came last night. I can’t remember if it has a name, I’ll check, but I just love the color!  It was inspired by dark summer sunflowers. So pretty and the yarn is really soft!
August Zen String“>
I also have a really bad photo of the beginning of DHC’s Argosy blanket. I must not have been paying attention when I took it.
Argosy Beginning“>

Sorry, I’ll try to do better next time.  Maybe tonight Tangy Cabletini’s get completed.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Winding a ball of yarn is one of Dominic’s favorite things to help me with 🙂

I love the Dragonfly colors!!

Comment by Melissa

Thanks for the shout out. I find the ball winder fascinating. Any results from the yarn vote-in?

Comment by running peanut

So THAT’s how that big wooden thingy works.

What’s the deal with your computer. I thought you were in the club.

Comment by Troy

I’m just a pledge in the cool people’s club. I guess they assume I know it’s finished. I’m going to go try to pick it up tonight.

Comment by Sally

Well done great blog and great posts!!!

Comment by Portal Porto Alegre Com

I have to say, that swift looks HUGE! Mine is identical in design, yet I think it must be much smaller than yours is.

After looking at your pictures, I realize just how much I need to clean off my desk. 🙂

Comment by Sarah

[…] I bought some roving (the kids helped me pick the colours) and we were getting ready to leave.  Near the door, a woman was sitting winding yarn into cakes with a yarn swift and ball winder much like this one.  […]

Pingback by Even Though They’re Small, They’re People Too « Family Nature

[…] I bought some roving (the kids helped me pick the colours) and we were getting ready to leave.  Near the door, a woman was sitting winding yarn into cakes with a yarn swift and ball winder much like this one. […]

Pingback by Even Though They’re Small, They’re People Too | Family Nature




Leave a Reply

