Big Sky Mind


Now I Understand
July 22, 2007, 8:09 pm
Filed under: BFF, Knitting, Yarn Pr0n

Now I understand what the big deal was about the Wollmeise. My skein came on Friday, and I’ve been staring at it ever since. It is some beautiful yarn. The colors are so rich and intense, just really, really wow. It seems nice and firm, I know it is going to knit up into some beautiful socks. So check it outThe Beautiful Wollmeise“>
Here are close up pictures of the two ends so you can see how beautiful the colors are.
Wollmeise Close Up 1“>
The colorway is Red Hot Chili. Love it!!!
Wollmeise Close Up 2“>
Now on to the weekend project, finishing up BigSkyMind.
BigSkyMind Socks“>
They were knit with Dream In Color Smooshy Sock Yarn in Happy Forest and Summer Sky (I think those were the color names, there were only numbers on the tags, 150 and 170) The puffy cloud yarn was (well darn, I can’t find the tag anywhere I think it was Tahki Stacy Charles some blend fluffy yarn, sorry). I knit them toe up on size 1 DPN’s. I did a short row heel, but if I were ever to make them again, I would do a gusset and heel flap so they would be easier to get on and off. D and I made the pattern up as we went along and the grass and clouds are completely random. The two socks are not alike. I really appreciate all the nice comments I’ve been getting on them on my Flickr page. They really did turn out pretty swell.

So, with the BigSkyMind socks in the books, it’s on to the next project. My BFF Georgianne and I had brunch this morning and I decided as a belated birthday gift, I would make her some socks. ADD moment: I totally forgot to take her picture, again. I have to be the spaciest girl in the world! It has been a long time since I knit anything for her, so I hauled all my fingering weight sock yarn with me to brunch (yes, it was a big bag, why do you ask???) and of all her choices she picked Rum Runner, my newest Yarn Pirate yarn. We are doing a pretty simple rib pattern and I’m going to be knitting these socks on two circular needles. This is my first time trying this technique, but I think I’m going to like it. That is what the Summer of Socks reallly is all about for me, expanding my universe of sock knitting. Here is what the Rum Runner looks like wound up.
Rum Runner Wound for Project“>
Don’t you love all my fancy cables in the background???
Now if you will excuse me, I’ve got a Magic Cast On to master.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Salsy,
The socks are delicious and I can’t wait to wear them. I will let you know when they make their debut. Thank you.
P.S.-I love it when you talk “technical knit talk.”

Comment by Runningpeanut

You so crazy!!!

Comment by bigskymind

How much did you pay for Wollmeise at Loopy Ewe?

Comment by Deb

It was $25.

Comment by bigskymind




Leave a Reply

