Big Sky Mind


How Old Is Too Old?
June 6, 2007, 7:48 am
Filed under: Insomnia, Music, Pets, Yoga

I am feeling much better today.  I realized after my yoga class last night that it had been a month since I had taken a yoga class.  People often ask me “isn’t teaching the same as taking?”.  No is the simple answer.   When I’m teaching, I’m in and out of poses and I’m focused on my students and what is going on with them.  When I take a class, I can focus on how I’m feeling and just relax, very different experiences.  I slept better last night than I have in awhile. 
Oscar being sweet“>
“I am thinking of ways to wake up Mom in the middle of the night to give me treats.”
I also made a connection last night, sneaky Oscar wakes me up every night at about 3 a.m.  He whines, scratches at the nightstand and walks and jumps on me.  Last night I was able to go back to sleep after this, lots of times, I don’t.   Oscar can sleep all day, he’s probably sleeping right now.  I’m just going to have to play with him a bunch before bedtime so he’s sleepier at night. 
Fall Out Boy Tickets“>
You might be wondering about the title of this post. This Friday night, my BFF Georg and I are going to the Fall Out Boy concert. This seemed like a fantastic idea when I ordered the tickets. I love Fall Out Boy’s music and Georg likes them too. I am a little worried that people will think that we are Moms who brought their teenagers to the concert and got lost in the process. I am old enough to be the mother of the members of Fall Out Boy, much less their very young audience. Aalyiah once sang that “age ain’t nothing but a number”, but I don’t know if she’s right about that. The last concert we went to was REM, which was fine. Most of the audience was our age or older. I’m thinking that this may be weird. I’ll let you know how it goes.  I don’t think I’m ready to give up rocking out just yet…

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Salsy, how about just closing your bedroom door or perhaps putting Oscar in the fortress for the night? I think he would have plenty of play room down there. P.S.-ONE IS NEVER TOO OLD TO ROCK!

Comment by runningpeanut

You have a wonderful blog here!!! Looks like we have a lot in common!!!

Comment by harmonia

Thanks Harmonia! Welcome to bigskymind!

Comment by bigskymind

If Phil Spector isn’t too old, you aren’t.

Comment by Troy

I wish I had your guts. I’m nearly 39 and would love to go and see Fall Out Boy,but I think my kids would never forgive me lol

Comment by liz lefevre

It’s your responsibility to surprise your kids! 🙂 As far as too old… I’m sure they’re just as (maybe more!) happy to see you enjoying their music as you are to take a great class from a very young or very old or very….. teacher!

Comment by yogaguide




Leave a Reply

