Big Sky Mind


Hosiery Hell
May 9, 2007, 7:30 am
Filed under: Fashion

Sorry fellas, this post is going to resonate much more with the ladies that read my blog.  For most of my adult working life I have had to wear pantyhose on the job.  Pantyhose are a pain.  They are clingy, uncomfortable, and in the summer just too darned hot.  For a number of years I wore Donna Karan Nude pantyhose.  They were the best I had ever found, very sheer, close to the pale sickly color of my legs, basically, they were workable.  The only downside to them was that they cost $17. a pair.  They may even be more expensive now, I’m not sure.  Pantyhose are not something that lasts forever, a good month of wear is exceptional and occasionally you will get a run in them the very first time you put them on.  You can imagine the thoughts that go through the head when you’ve ruined $17. before you’ve even worn them once?  It’s not pretty. I was very happy when I found Solutions by Hanes at Target.  Very similar to the Donna Karan Nudes, but $6 instead of $17.  So when it was time to buy some new hose I went first to THS.  They don’t carry oyster, the sickly pale color I need.  No problem.  I head over to my neighborhood Target, aka, Target-o-lay.  Now they aren’t carrying the oyster color either.  I looked online, Hanes doesn’t even acknowledge that they make this brand.  This is very frustrating to me, why do pantyhose have to be either impossibly expensive, or impossible to find?!?  I know that I am in the minority in this, but I actually prefer a woman in pantyhose to bare legs, but what’s a girl to do?

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I don’t envy you one bit…sounds like hell. What will you do?

Comment by runningpeanut

The quest for a new hosiery source begins. I may have to go and shop someplace I HATE to find hosiery.

Comment by bigskymind

I have the solution. I get my hosiery at Victoria Secret. Each pair costs about $6 and my favorite part is the store has kind of like a “sock” sample where you put your hand in. By doing this you can see which shade looks the best with your skin tone. VS also has all different types of shades- even for us Irish lasses.

Comment by Cara




Leave a Reply

