Big Sky Mind


New Yarn, New Project and the Icky Thump
May 1, 2007, 9:10 am
Filed under: Knitting, Music, Pets

Mondays are not my favorite day of the week.  I would have to say they are probably my least favorite.  However, the past two Mondays have been much more enjoyable due to the arrival of my shipments from The Loopy Ewe.  Yesterday brought my Yarn Pirate Daisy and my Claudia Handpainted in Carabean Blue.  Misspelling all mine, I’m making some socks for Cara, and those just happen to be her fav colors.  When I got home last night, new yarn inspector Oscar wanted a sniff.
Oscar and New Yarn“>
He approved them, so into the sock stash they go. Georgia, The Yarn Pirate herself, is having a shop update on Wednesday. So if the internet slows down, you will know it is all the crazy sock yarn buyers crashing the web.

I’ve decided that my next big knitting project will be the Icarus shawl. It’s starting to get warmer outside and when I was looking at my Perfect Sweater yarn last night, it just seemed so heavy, I think it can wait till fall. I am going to be using my Alchemy Haiku yarn. I can’t wait to get started! Remind me of this moment when I am lost in Chart #3 and cursing at myself for making something so complicated.
Alchemy

 Have you heard the new single from The White Stripes? It’s called “Icky Thump”, and I am completely obsessed with it. I think there may be bagpipes playing on it. I am amazed by Meg White’s drumming ability! Tiny person, huge noise. If this is any indication of what their new album is going to sound like, I’m counting the days to release.

Icky Thump

Finally today, here is another picture of the gorgeous Zoe.  I think she would beat Simon paws down in America’s Next Top Cat Model competition.

Beautiful Zoe“>

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Such a potpourri. Watch out Cara while wearing your socks in the bathroom…you might disappear.

Comment by Runningpeanut

I can’t wait for my new socks! Now that it is warm outside Mr. Joel is insiting to have the AC on. It feels like the artic in our home. My new Cara signature Tiffany and Co inspired socks will just be the trick to my chilliness.

Comment by Cara

I used to hate Mondays, but Karen and I have made it our eat at Shapiros then get flowers at the flower shop across the street day. There isn’t a case of the Monday blahs that a bowl of Matza Ball soup can’t fix.

Comment by Troy




Leave a Reply

