Big Sky Mind


What’s Next?
April 24, 2007, 2:58 pm
Filed under: Knitting

So now that I have finished the Baby Moderne blanket, all that I have on my needles are my Yarn Pirate socks.  They are coming along very nicely, maybe I will have a photo to share with you tomorrow.  I need to figure out what big project I want to start next.  I have a few ideas in mind.  One is an amazing Rowan tunic that I have been working on for (seriously) over 10 years now.  I have 1/2 or less of one sleeve left and then it will be done.  Why haven’t I finished it before now?  It’s a difficult pattern and I tire of it very quickly.  I think I’m at a point now in my knitting life where I could take it out, fight through the boredom and finish it once and for all.  Next idea is my “Perfect Sweater”.  This is another Mason Dixon pattern.  I already have the yarn purchased for this.  A beautiful yellowy orange Cascade.  It would be nice to make a sweater for myself that actually fits.  I would swatch and check my gauge and the whole bit.  The last thing I’m debating is my Icarus Shawl.  I also have the yarn for this.  It is almost warm enough that all I’m going to be wanting to knit are lacy shawls.  When it’s hot out, you don’t want a big piece of heavy knitting in your lap.  So, what do you think I should choose?  One of my ideas or maybe something completely different.  Let me know what you think.

Tuesday’s Tidbits
April 24, 2007, 10:41 am
Filed under: Knitting, Music

I just have been having a heck of a time getting this post going.  I just can’t seem to get my thoughts organized.  So let me just show you what I’ve got. 

First off, finished Baby Moderne.  It is from Mason Dixon knitting.  It was made with Rowan Calmer yarn, which is absolutely lovely to knit with.  I don’t know the colors, they are all numbers.  Knit on US size 6 circular needles.

Finished Baby Moderne

The pattern called for an edging, but I didn’t put one on there.  That’s pretty rebellious for me in a knitting pattern.

My new yarn came.  Very excited for my Chewy Spaghetti and my Yarn Love.

New Sock Yarn

I have had two posts that I haven’t completed in the last couple of days.  I don’t know what is going on, but one was about Earth Day on Sunday.  The original title of today’s post was “In Praise of the White Stripes”. 

The White Stripes

 I was listening to them this morning on my drive into work, and thinking how much I like them.  Ann over at Mason Dixon likes them too.  She was even talking about making a White Stripes tribute sweater to wear to Bonnaroo this summer.  I’m not quite that devoted. 

Also, big props to my buddy Cara who was at a book festival this weekend in Lexington and got my new book signed by the Yarn Harlot herself, Stephanie Pearl-McPhee.  Cara and I  were talking on Friday and I am pretty sure that the last book I actually read from beginning to end was “Knitting Rules”, by the Harlot.  She is a hilarious writer, and even if you don’t knit, you owe it to yourself to check her blog out.  Hopefully, I will have a stream of cohesive thoughts put together for you tommorow.