Big Sky Mind


What Will We Do Without Jason?
April 6, 2007, 9:32 am
Filed under: Friends, Work

Today is my friend and co-worker Jason’s last Friday at the office.  He isn’t leaving us competely, he is going to be working on Mondays, thank goodness.  He is going to be spending the rest of his weekdays taking care of his baby Reese.  How cool and progressive is that?  The problem with this is that he’s leaving a whole bunch of big babies alone here at the office.  Jason is our “go to guy”.  When something is broken, we go to Jason.  He fixes the postage machine, the fax machine.  If he can’t fix it, he knows which repairman to call.  We all depend on him way more than he knows, and there are more than a few of us that feel panicked at the thought of him not being here to look after us.  I’m just going to be sure to come in super early on Mondays, so I will be in the front of the line that is going to form outside his office. 

Jason and Reese

Photo courtesy of Superphotographer Mike B.

The Quest for the Yarn Pirate Yarn
April 6, 2007, 8:07 am
Filed under: Knitting, Pets

Who would think that buying sock yarn would be a blog-worthy adventure?  Not me, originally.  I first read about The Yarn Pirate yarn on WendyKnits .  She really liked it and of course that made me want some.  Now Yarn Pirate yarn isn’t sold in local stores.  The only place I knew to get it was from The Loopy Ewe .  So I read on Sheri’s blog last week that she was going to update her shop and get in a shipment of Yarn Pirate.  In the meantime I had discovered The Yarn Pirate’s blog .  She had pictures of the yarn she was shipping to The Loopy Ewe and it looked beautiful.  On the day that Sheri was going to update her site I checked it at about 7 p.m. and it wasn’t done yet, so I figured I’d check it first thing in the morning.  Imagine my surprise when I checked it at 8 a.m. the next day and ALL of the Yarn Pirate yarn was gone!  Sold! Disappeared!  Extreme sadness and a realization that if I really wanted some of this yarn, I was going to have to get with the program and kick it up a notch.  In reading the Yarn Pirate’s blog she announced she was going to update her own Etsy shop on Saturday at 9 a.m. PST.  I managed to figure out that was 12 p.m. my time.  So at Noon, I’m on the computer, ready to go.  The first skein I see and try to buy, is sold out before I can get to the check-out screen.  Getting this sock yarn was turning out to be more difficult than getting tickets to see The Police!  I put my fingers into overdrive and managed to score 1 skein of Kona.  At that point I didn’t even care what the yarn looked like, I JUST HAD TO HAVE IT!  Sock yarn acquistion can be a dangerous thing.  She sold out her entire stock in 7 minutes!  Was it worth it?  I think so:

Yarn Pirate Yarn

Of course, my faithful assistant Oscar had to check out my precious booty:

Oscar and the Yarn Pirate Yarn

He was also checking out my post felted Super Orange Tote:

Oscar and The Orange Tote

Actually, I think he thinks it’s a cat bed.  Everytime I tried to take a photo of it, he was either sitting on it or laying on it.  I’m glad it meets with his seal of approval.

I’m going to make every effort to post next week.  I know you are all just riveted by the exciting events that make up my life.