Big Sky Mind


Spinning Into Oblivion
March 19, 2007, 8:01 am
Filed under: Knitting, Pets, Spinning

Another weekend has passed and I finished the mystery gift, photos will be posted after delivery later this week.  I also did work on the Baby Moderne.

Baby Moderne

The fourth square is now complete and I am casting on for the fifth square.  It seems weird for me to have just one project going at a time.  Normally I have at least two, sometimes three.  Maybe I’ll cast something else on this week. 

I have been frustrated by my spinning.  I want to practice, but the thought that I am just wasting perfectly good wool just kills me.  So I decided yesterday that I would practice spinning and not care what the results were.  I did okay, my yarn is still really bulky, then after I’d plied my two singles together, I thought maybe I’d just knit it up to see if you could even knit with it at all.

hand spun swatch

So here is a close up of the swatch I knit, it’s not great, but it’s not completely awful either.  I would love to be able to spin yarn fine enough to make sock yarn.  That is a long way away, but at least I’m on the path.  And finally this morning, some pictures of the boys.  They were laying on the stairs enjoying the bright sunshine.  Simon, for some unknown reason, decided that picking a fight with Oscar was a good idea.

Boys Sleeping

Boys Fighting

Boys Fighting 2

I don’t think his plan worked out too well for him, he ended up getting tossed off the stairs.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Sals-
I luvs the cat pics. The sequence reminds me of animation where they draw scene after scene and then run them real fast so that it flows. These are great! How did the song go,” We’ll play in the sunshine…”

Comment by David "runningpeanut"

Close, “We’ll sing in the sunshine, we’ll laugh every day-a-a-a.” Carl sings that to the boys all the time.

Comment by bigskymind




Leave a Reply

