Big Sky Mind


Everything’s Just Wonderful
March 6, 2007, 8:52 am
Filed under: Insomnia, Knitting, Music

Lily Allen

That is the title of one of the songs on my new Lily Allen CD.  It’s meant to be ironic.  Last night was the great “sleep in the guest room experiment”.  Everyone that sleeps in there always goes on and on about how great they sleep, so Carl was convinced that if I went in there to sleep, I would have no insominia.  Unfortch, that wasn’t the case.  12:44-3:30 I was awake.  The good news is that since I was in the other room, I just turned the light on and got some good knitting time in.  The other news is that beautiful Simon felt comfortable enough in there to sleep with me for a little while.  He normally won’t have anything to do with us at bedtime.  And I was able to go back to sleep, which I haven’t been able to do at all lately.  I’m going to try no caffeine after noon today.  Plus I have yoga tonight, so I usually sleep better on those nights.  I have to admit that I am getting to the end of my rope, I may have to admit defeat and go see my doctor.  I think last night also convinced Carl that I’m not just making this up.  He woke up about 2:30 and there I was, wide awake, light on, knitting away.  I worked on my mystery gift last night before I went to sleep, and I worked on my blanket project in the middle of the night.  If some plain garter stitch knit with Rowan Calmer yarn (yes, the name of the yarn is Calmer, cool huh?) won’t soothe you to sleep, I don’t know what will.  Here is a photo of David, modeling the baby bib I made for Reece.  Don’t tell Oscar that he has competition.

David Modeling Bib

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The adult bib look is soooo in right now.

Comment by runningpeanut

Sally, you should develop a line of ragin’ nursing home knit goods–bibs could be first on the list.

BTW, John and I have been sleeping in OUR guest bedroom since Sunday. Isn’t that a strange coincidence? We don’t even really know why. I think we like the room better.

Comment by Troy




Leave a Reply

