Big Sky Mind


Weekend Update
February 19, 2007, 2:52 pm
Filed under: Knitting

It has not been my habit to post on the weekend, but I am feeling in the mood. Hopefully I will be able to post my pictures. Carl let me know that he did not need a knitted hat, that he has some, he just chooses not to wear them. So, I made myself a hat instead. It is made from the Noro silk garden yarn. It was a really fast knit, I started it Friday night and finished it by noon on Saturday.  Since it is Monday morning, you can tell I was not able to post pictures from my computer into my blog.  But I have the pictures and the technology to do it now.

Noro Hat

I was also able to finish My So Called Scarf.  My assistant Oscar graciously agreed to pose with the scarf as it was blocking for size compairsons.

Oscar and Blocking Scarf

I started my felted wool clogs.  One is knitted up, the other one is in progress.  Pictures soon to follow.  I was thoroughly entertained by the Daytona 500.  The last 50 laps were very exciting, lots of accidents, no injuries, thank goodness, and a photo finish. 

Nascar Photo Finish

This was the finish, very dramatic.  I was really rooting for Mark Martin in the Army car to win, he came about as close as you can without winning, it just wasn’t meant to be.  There was a giantic accident unfolding behind these two cars. 

Clint Bowyer

This is the worst wreck of the day, poor Clint Bowyer was a half a lap from a top ten finish when he got turned upside down and caught on fire.  Fortunately, he crawled right out of the car, only a little confused on his finishing position.  And for my favorite driver, Dale Jr.  His day didn’t turn out like he planned.

Dale Jr. Accident

He got caught up in an accident in the late laps that pretty much destroyed the old Budweiser Chevy.  The Nascar circus heads to California next weekend for the Boring 500.  It will be nap time for sure.

Tommorow is Fat Tuesday, are you giving up anything for Lent?  I am planning on giving up reading Celebrity Gossip Blogs.  I gave this same thing up last year, and I think with all of the Anna Nicole and Britney coverage these days, it is really for the best for me to take a break from it for awhile. 

 Bald Britney

 It just makes me feel sad to read all about their poor messed up lives.  I gave up buying new clothes for the enitre year, so I guess I can include that as well.  I think I will also try to read an entire book from beginning to end during lent.  Personal enrichment, if you will.  That may be the toughest thing for me to do.  I’ll keep you posted.  Have a great Monday!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Sals,
Perhaps Britney could use your new hat. I’m just sayin’. She must have a cold dome after all. Our Brit Brit is coming undone. My what a varied post you have today.
Runningpeanut

Comment by runningpeanut

Felted clogs!!! Can’t wait to see those. I love clogs.

I like your hat, and since you can’t buy clothes for yourself, making this is a good idea.

Comment by Troy

The pattern for the clogs has both women’s and men’s sizes. I’ll let you know how they work out, maybe John could whip you up a pair. The first one pre-felting is HUGE!!! Think Ronald McDonald.

Comment by Sally




Leave a Reply

