Big Sky Mind


A Hat for My Honey
February 16, 2007, 7:47 pm
Filed under: Knitting

It is redonkulusly cold here in the midwest.  So much so that my sister in law Mary sent us a care package from the South yesterday.  It had Orange Blondies, flowers all over the inside box, and handdrawn suns all over the outside box.  It was a really sweet gesture, and much needed on a long nasty week.  My darling Carl doesn’t have a good winter hat.  He has been trying to get along using baseball caps, but let’s face it, this is NOT baseball weather.  So this weekend, it is my mission to knit him a proper, warm winter hat that will actually cover his ears.  I have two skeins of Noro that I got at the Knit Stop when it was on sale that I am debating between.

Noro

The lighter one is all wool and the darker one is called “Silk Garden”.  It is a blend of silk and wool and it is VERY soft.  My problem is this:  Carl’s main coat is navy.  Niether one of these colors is really a great match.  David and I tend to think the darker one, which is more of a dark gray in person is better.  I may just make a trip back to the Knit Stop to see if they have anything that would go better with navy.  I would really rather knit the hat out of the silk blend, I just think it would feel better against your head.  All thoughts/opinions/comments welcome.  Have a great weekend everyone!  I’ll be knitting and watching the Daytona 500 on Sunday. 

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m a frickin’ blog celebrity. I am like, so totally mentioned in thousands of blogs per day. Take a trip to the yarn store and see what’cha find.
D.

Comment by runningpeanut

You know, I used to try to get along with a baseball cap in winter, but then John produced the magical Kitty Hat, and life’s never been the same. Thank God for knit hats, too since my atomic thermometer read -5 this a.m.

Comment by Troy

Knit that hat girl ‘fo ‘sho.

Comment by runningpeanut




Leave a Reply

