Big Sky Mind


Don’t Judge Me Because I Love Nascar
February 8, 2007, 8:25 pm
Filed under: Nascar

If you don’t know a lot about me, you might be very surprised to find out that I do love Nascar and car racing in general.  I like to think of myself as a diamond, lots of different facets.  But here are a few reasons why I spend many a Sunday afternoon watching cars go round in circles.  My family is originally from the south.  I was born in Georgia.  Most of my family still lives in the south.  My brother has a house so close to the Lowes Motor Speedway in Concord N.C. that you can hear the cars when they are on the track in his backyard.  I first became interested in Nascar when I realized every time I called my folks on Sunday afternoons, they were watching the race.  If I was watching it too, I’d have more to talk to them about.  Call it common ground.  They are big Jeff Gordon fans.  That is another thing about Nascar, if you are going to follow it at all, you really need to pick a driver to root for.  Then it is drama, what is happening to “my driver”.  You become more invested.  I decided when I started to become interested in Nascar that I would root for Dale Earnhardt Jr. 

 Dale Jr.

Now I know he is the fan favorite, obvious pick, but the reasons I decided to root for him are probably a little different than most people.  He is not what I considered your “average” Nascar driver to be like.  He likes rock and rap music, not just country.  He often has rap artists on his pit box during races.  He was profiled in Rolling Stone magazine.  He isn’t vanilla perfect, always saying the right thing, thanking the sponsors, he doesn’t sound like a robot.  Another reason I like Nascar is that it gives me something to watch when football season is over and it’s yuckky outside and there isn’t much going on in Indiana.  The races last so long, you can start watching a race, fall asleep and take a nice looong nap, and wake up and it still won’t be over.  My favorite races are called restrictor plate races.  The cars are all fitted with plates that make it so they can’t go too fast, so they all end up being about the same speed, and when they crash it is usually very dramatic with many cars involved.  Fortunately, the drivers rarely are injured in “the big one”, even though it always seems like one or two flip over.  That is the kind of race that the Daytona 500 is.  The Nascar season is very long (too long in my opinion, it should end before football starts) and every year when it is over, I think I’m done with it.  But now, I’m starting to get the fever.  The Daytona 500 is in 9 days, and I just can’t wait!  Drivers’ start your engines!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Will it go round in circles?

Comment by David

I think I could get into Nascar (I love the nap logic). I just wish they could all race with Priuses. Being from his hometown, all people from Batesville, AR sort of have to root for Mark Martin.

Comment by Troy

They are switching to unleaded fuel this year. And the Indy Racing League (they are the cars that run the Indy 500) uses Ethanol. So maybe someday they will race with hybrids.

Comment by Sally




Leave a Reply

