Big Sky Mind


Yoga Buddies
January 24, 2007, 2:13 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

One unexpected benefit of doing yoga is all of the great people you get to meet and new friends that you make along the way.  yoga-buddies.jpg

Here is a picture of me and some of my yoga buddies last night having dinner after class.  Ann standing in the middle works with sight impaired children and even though she can’t always make it to class (she travels a LOT in her job) class is always better when she’s there.  Lisa in the purple tee-shirt is our yoga teacher.  I consider her my guru.  That isn’t a bad word, it actually just means teacher.  In yoga there are a lot of “schools” or different types of yoga, I come from the Lisa “school”.  If it weren’t for Lisa, I know I would most likely not be a yoga teacher today.  She is the one that convinced me that I was ready to go through teacher training and that I could actually do it.  If you’ve ever been to one of my yoga classes, you’ve basically been to one of Lisa’s.  I steal from her frequently and shamelessly.  Seated is my friend Jan who was our guest of honor in class and at dinner.  She left Indianapolis last year and moved off to Switzerland.  She is very brave, and very smart, and very funny.  They are all totally cool.  I also have a group of ladies that come to my Saturday morning class.  After class, we like to go over to the cafe across the street and have some breakfast and chat.  I will have to get a picture of them to post as well.  They are a diverse group, but I feel like I learn things every time I get together with them.  I teach them about yoga, they teach me about life.  That seems like a more than fair trade to me.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I remember when I first came to class. I was soooo intimidated to come and do yoga with a group of people it took me six months to get up the courage to come. I certainly came to the right place. I remember watching Sally and thinking “Look at her! Look at what she can do! What am I doing here?” Who knew that coming to this place and meeting these people would give me the strength to be more comfortable with myself. Sally says I am brave. I think coming to this class. Meeting all of you helped me to become brave (if I am). All the friendship and positive support definitely helped me to grow and having you all as my friends has added such beauty to my life. I am humble and grateful for your friendship and it has made me much stronger and better knowing you. Thank you. You are the flowers in my garden of friendship.
Love, Jan

Comment by Jan

Sally teaches a class here at the office once a week. I don’t do yoga (though I must say I can do a mean plow and my half-moon rising is enviable), my favorite part of the evening is the pre-yoga set up and gathering of enthusiasts. I just sit and watch and smile.

Comment by david

I wish I could be in Sally’s yoga class.

Comment by Troy

Troy you are welcome to come anytime you want. Wednesdays at 5:30.

Comment by Sally




Leave a Reply

